Huffington Post Photo/Story - Maggs speaks at Scotiabank

 86-year Old Arnaud Maggs in the running for Canada's largest photography award

Three photographers from across Canada have made the shortlist for the 2012 Scotiabank Photography Award. The finalists, Toronto's Arnaud Maggs, Vancouver-based Fred Herzog and Alain Paiement of Montreal, were chosen from 12 names submitted by a panel of artists, experts, curators and critics.

Maggs at the Scotiabank Photography Award - Andrew Weir
The announcement, held at Scotiabank headquarters, was attended by the media and members of the arts community (pictured below).  In the auidence was 86-year old photographer Arnaud Maggs (pictured), who was named to the Prize's shortlist. After hearing his name announced the photographer came to the front of the executive boardroom and expressed his gratitude for being so honoured (pictured).
Internationally acclaimed photographer Arnaud Maggs is best known for detailed, grid-like portrait studies that betray a stark intimacy. His work is found in many collections across Canada. He has won such prizes as the Gershon Iskowitz Prize and the Canada Council’s Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton Award. Born in Montreal in 1926, Maggs currently makes his home in Toronto.
SPA press conference - Andrew Weir
The Scotiabank Photography Award (SPA) is the most generous photographic arts prize in Canada, exceeding $100,000 in value to a single winner. Designed to raise the profile of Canadian photographic arts worldwide, finalists are drawn from photographers nominated by peers (gallery owners, curators, artists, critics) across Canada.

The SPA winner will be announced May 9th at a Gala Awards dinner in downtown Toronto. The SPA consists of a $50,000 cash prize, an art exhibition and a German printed  photography book of the winning photographer's images.  This book will be distributed internationally.  

The SPA was conceived and developed by Ed Burtynsky, one of Canada's most respected photographers and Jane Nokes, Director of the Fine Art Collection and Corporate Archives at Scotiabank Group.  Mr. Burtynsky serves as Chair of the SPA and Jane Nokes is the Award's Executive Director.  Both serve on the Board of the Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival, the largest photography festival in the world.

Maggs at the short listed presser - Scotia Photography Award - Andrew Weir
This year's SPA winner will be announced May 9, 2012.  For more information please visit:


Popular posts from this blog

Believe it Or Not Toronto will soon have a Ripley's Aquarium

Omni TV vibrates to a Caribbean beat on Saturdays