April 2, 2014 one of those loci days for Canadian non-fiction book prizes.

APRIL 2nd – Big Big Day For Three Canadian Book Prizes

Today is an important day for three book prizes – one prize announces its grand winner tonight, while two other prizes announce their shortlists this morning
In Ottawa this evening, the Writer’s Trust will be awarding the Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing. The winner will receive $25,000, the runner-ups received $2,,5000. The shortlist has five authors including one who is a past RBC Taylor Prize winner and one a RBC Taylor Prize finalist:

• Margaret MacMillan - The War That Ended Peace: The Road to 1914
• RBC CTP winner: Charles Montgomery - Happy City: Transforming Our Lives Through Urban Design
• Donald J. Savoie -Whatever Happened to the Music Teacher? How Government Decides and Why
• RBC CTP Finalist Graeme Smith -The Dogs Are Eating Them Now: Our War in Afghanistan
• Paul Wells - The Longer I’m Prime Minister: Stephen Harper and Canada, 2006 –

This morning the John W. Dafoe Book Prize announced its five author shortlist. The winner will be named later in the spring and collect the $10,00 award at the J.W. Dafoe Foundation’s Annual Book Prize Dinner in May.
The short list author and titles are:

• Toronto Star senior political writer Susan Delacourt -- “Shopping for Votes: How Politicians Choose Us and We Choose Them,”
• Maclean’s political editor Paul Wells for “The Longer I’m Prime Minister: Stephen Harper and Canada, 2006 -”
• “The Canadian Rangers: A Living History” by P. Whitney Lackenbauer
• “One Day in August: The Untold Story Behind Canada’s Tragedy at Dieppe” by historian David O’Keefe.
• “The Once and Future Great Lakes Country: An Ecological History” by John L. Riley/

The Donner Prize shortlist was also announced today. The award honours public policy writing by Canadians.
The shortlist authors are:

• International law expert Michael Byers made the shortlist for "International Law and the Arctic."
• "Out of the Basement: Youth Cultural Production in Practice and in Policy" by Miranda Campbell, an English professor at Dawson College;
• "Unjust by Design: Canada's Administrative Justice System" by Ron Ellis, an administrative law lawyer, teacher, academic and arbitrator.
• "Shut Off: The Canadian Digital Television Transition" by Gregory Taylor, a post-doctoral fellow at Ryerson University;
• "The Third Rail: Confronting Our Pension Failures" by Queen's University chancellor-designate Jim Leech and Globe and Mail senior writer Jacquie McNish.

Each nominated title will receive $7,500, and the winner of the $50,000 Prize will be announced at an awards ceremony in Toronto on April 30. Journalist and former Charles Taylor Prize juror Jeffrey Simpson won last year's Donner Prize for "Chronic Condition," his book about the Canadian health-care system.


Popular posts from this blog

Believe it Or Not Toronto will soon have a Ripley's Aquarium

Omni TV vibrates to a Caribbean beat on Saturdays